Comic Cons

Last weekend in a galaxy far, far away, was Comic Con.

Last weekend, I did not attend Comic Con.

Last weekend, I told my mother “I wish that I was at Comic Con.”

Last weekend, I told my friend, “Let’s run away to Comic Con.”

In short: last weekend I was very sad about not attending Comic Con.

By now, however, I have come to terms with several things, these being: I missed seeing and interacting with the casts of my favorite television shows and movies, I missed getting autographs and photographs, and I missed meeting authors and actors alike.

Ok, so I’ve come to terms with them for the most part.

There have been several benefits of not being in San Diego though, benefits of missing this huge pop-culture convention of fun and happy chaos. In not attending, I’ve had a chance to think about them:

  1. I can see celebrities much closer than I would have if I had actually been there. (An unfortunate, counterproductive reality of the thing.)
  2. Days later, I can watch panels in HD on YouTube, the very same panels that people spend top dollar and time to see. And they’re full panels too, not just snippets. (Last night I shamelessly watched all forty minutes of the Once Upon a Time panel. I rewound it several times to relisten to the Captain Swan jokes. And I had the better view.)

    The cast of OUAT (my babies) traded name cards within the first five minutes of their panel. The cameramen got confused, so they had to switch them back. It didn't exactly work.

    The cast of OUAT (my babies) traded name cards within the first five minutes of their panel. The cameramen got confused, so they had to switch them back. It didn’t exactly work.

  3. I didn’t get to see the “Comic Con Exclusive” footage, but with social media, I could see it moments later anyway. I could also fangirl from the comfort of my own home.
  4. There are a TON of people there. Once again, it’s not like I was there and know this firsthand, but even from photographs: there are thousands of people swarming and shoving their ways towards the highlights.
  5. Simply: I didn’t have to wait in any lines or fight anyone. I also didn’t get hit by any rogue spears or lightsabers.

This isn’t to say that Comic Con is bad – at all. It’s a great networking and promotion tool. It also serves to unify the fan bases of so many pop-culture outlets. And I’m sure that attending would be extremely exciting, extremely fun. But as I have finally realized: not attending Comic Con has not caused the world to implode. I’m still alive, the heart of the fandoms is still beating, and I shall fangirl on – with the hope, of course, that I will attend Comic Con someday.

Leave a Reply

