Wanna hear something horrible? I don’t even remember actually finishing this book.

I did finish, though. So that definitely says more about the book than me. (Right?)

ttrIt wasn’t horrible. I just lost interest in it somewhere towards the supposedly most exciting part of the story, and didn’t even care to finish it until a month later when I came home from school. I also did what I said I wouldn’t and read it as an audiobook. (It was free, okay!) I’m sure a physical copy would have made the story flow better, would have forced me into world of the fae, would have me somewhat worried about Celaena when she fights monsters.

Because boy did she fight a lot of monsters.

Those parts were cool, but a lot of them were like, “oh crap I didn’t see that coming!” or, “oh no I have to save the world again I hope I don’t die!” or even better, “oh my goodness I have MAGIC? Where did THAT come from?!” Like with the first book, I just didn’t like Celaena and Maas’s groundbreaking(ly predictable) logic. It felt juvenile.

To be fair, though, not everything was obnoxious or predictable. There were a couple parts where I was shocked, freaked out, on the edge of the seat in my car. Some of the best bits that Celaena didn’t see coming, I didn’t expect either.

(I’m not going to spoil anything of course, but even if I tried I wouldn’t know how to spell their names.)

So it was exciting and exciting book. No revolutionary literature here, but exciting nonetheless. If you loved the first book, I’ve heard that this one is better, from much more enthusiastic readers and bigger fans than me. It just wasn’t for me. (That cliche applies here, I think. I also think that it was used in the actual book somewhere.)

One thought on “Crown of Midnight Review

Leave a Reply

