August 28th, 2016

When I applied to Georgia Tech last winter, I applied for a slew of other scholarships too. College scholarships, alumni scholarships, Dean’s scholarships, “outside” scholarships…img_8648so many that, by the end of the process, they were all an incoherent whirlwind of “maybe’s” and “money” and “unlikely” in my head.

So, when I found out that I was being awarded the Ivan Allen College (Tech’s liberal arts college) (yes there’s a liberal arts college) Dean’s Research Internship Scholarship, I freaked.

First, because I was super excited about it. It’s a paid internship, under the guidance of a professor in my major. And I’m a freshman. Opportunities like this are extremely rare, so I snatched it up.

img_8568Then, though, I freaked because I had no idea what I was going to have to do. I was excited about it, of course, but what would such a position entail? There was nothing about it anywhere online. Would I be helping a professor with his or her research? Would I need to come up with projects of my own, and only consult this professor for advising? How would I fit this job into my already inevitably busy schedule?

I didn’t know what to expect, but even in February, I couldn’t wait to get started.

Now it’s here, finally, the beginning of the fall semester and the beginning of the mysterious scholarship research program that the World Wide Web has yet to recognize. Now it’s here, and as I figure it all out, you will be the next to know.

2 thoughts on “IAC Dean’s Research Internship

Leave a Reply

