tumblr_ognhlb5ync1rve49co1_250BEETLEJUICE, BEETLEJUICE, BEE-

Hey again!

So Halloweekend.

A weekend dedicated to candy and parties, events and costumes. I always enjoyed Halloween in high school because it corresponded with Red Ribbon Week, and we got to dress along with different themes every single day.

I love trying to come up with the coolest, most accurate, or punniest costumes possible. Sometimes I go the pop-culture route; other times I prefer plays on words. When you have several days and events to dress for, this is easy. You can be anything you want, you don’t have to pick.

The challenging part, though, is coming up with something this good from the limits of our college wardrobes. I didn’t want to spend any money, if possible, on new clothes or props that I would only use once. A LITTLE GASOLINE, BLOWTORCH, NO PROBLEM.

tumblr_ognhlb5ync1rve49co8_250So one night, I dressed in all black and, when people asked who I was, I asked them who they thought I was. This little social experiment was a total cop-out, but the “witch,” “Pretty Little Liars,” and “chick from Beetlejuice” responses were pretty entertaining.

Another night I dressed as Alex Russo from Wizards of Waverly Place. She was my childhood hero and one of my first style-icons. Her clothes are extremely cool and eclectic, so I threw some things in my closet together and topped it off with a crazy funky chunky hat.
img_0602

On Saturday night, I was a pun. I wrote the names of dozens of characters on to name tags and stuck them all over my black dress. Then I put on a black bandana. I was an identity thief.When these name tags started falling off, I claimed that I was having an identity crisis. I was amusing myself all night with that one.tumblr_ognhlb5ync1rve49co2_1280img_0684img_0642

ATTENTION K-MART SHOPPERS. Costumes aside, what did I do on all of these nights, exactly?

tumblr_ognhlb5ync1rve49co7_500I hung out with my friends, went to parties, attended events. One night I went to a haunted house. We had a party, where we all baked spooky treats, on my floor. I attended SCPC’s Alice in Horrorland event at the Student Center. I even went to a concert. There wasn’t a dull moment. Something was happening, somewhere, at all times. College is so cool.

Alice in Horrorland in particular was pretty neat. SCPC turned the third floor of the Student Center into a twisty weird Wonderland. Each room was a different theme, with games and treats and creepy cat videos. There were delicious cupcakes and glow sticks and just about anything else vaguely Halloween and/or Lewis Carroll-related. The main attraction, however, was a haunted maze inside the ballroom. There were people in costumes wandering about, jumping out at you as you searched for a way out of the dark curtained path. It was fun.
img_0701img_0697

That same night, Wreckless, another club on campus, hosted a concert on the IC Lawn. And who played, you may ask? Judah and the Lion! I had only heard of them from a Spotify commercial, but I had liked what I heard. So my friends and I went, listened, laughed, sang, and danced. I highly recommend going to concerts, even if you aren’t too familiar with the band. Especially when they come to your school, especially when they’re right in your backyard.img_0714

Sunday was the day of studying, as were the daylight hours. The weekend was long, full of fun. But the best part was doing so many different things, both on and off campus, with my friends. Halloweekend was an absolute blast.

DAYLIGHT COME AND ME DON’T WANT TO GO HOME.

 

Leave a Reply

