tumblr_o6owfyjmhm1scu1amo1_500Hey bros! (Brothers? Bretheren?)

It has been several months now, but Georgia Tech’s annual homecoming was an absolute blast. I am a homecoming-kind of gal. I love it. I love the events, the game, the competitions

I wanted to take part in the Homecoming festivities, because Homecoming at my high school was HUGE and I loved it. I was a little worried that I wouldn’t be able to, because I’m not Greek and didn’t know about any other teams competing. However, there are teams for each of the dorm quads too! There are many more organizations involved than you may think, and anyone who wants to get involved—like me— is able to!

This being said, I helped out with chalking, painting windows, and designing and painting our quad’s banner. I also attended the carnival-themed events, which were fun too!

My favorite of all of these activities was definitely chalking. It took place on Friday, around lunchtime, and the atmosphere on Tech Walkway was indescribable.

It felt like fall for the first time this season, and people from all over campus had come together to get messy and creative amongst the leaves blowing along the sidewalk. Passersby meandered to and from lunch, stopping to watch and talk. I saw my friends, chalked with friends, made new friends. Someone was playing ACDC because it somehow related to the jungle theme, but no one was questioning it. It such a special experience. It was one of those times that feels almost unreal, like a scene in a movie. I mean, there was even background music.img_0476img_0482img_0471

The following Saturday was game day.

Before that, however, were the Freshman Cake Race and the Homecoming parade…which I accidentally slept through. Yeah, that was bad. I had been so busy for the past week though, what with late night Starbucks runs and cram essay-writing sessions, that it all caught up to me. It was a much-needed reprieve.

img_0616-1The Homecoming football game against Duke, though, a mere five or so hours later, was a blast. It was the big game, bigger than the Cornwall game in She’s the Man.

I sat closer to the field than I ever had before. So close, in fact, that I could actually see the football! (WILD!) (I usually block on the second level of the stadium with a different fraternity.) It was a really exciting game, but I’m still not sure if it was just the game or that I saw more of it than usual.

My high school AP Literature teacher (and favorite human being in the world) came to the game too! We caught up and nerded out over books and talked about school and life and etc. It was so sweet to see her.

And, to top everything off…WE WON! GO JACKETS! Duke didn’t know what hit them. (Duke the school/team, not Duke Channing Tatum. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news.) It was hot, but I was happy.

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

After the game, it was back to reality. Well, sort of. My friend and I tried to work, but were quickly distracted and/or exhausted. Our productivity was doomed. So we went into Halloweekend mode instead.

What exactly did this “Halloweekend mode” entail? In the spirit of trick-or-treating…you’ll have to just wait for my next blog post to find out!

Until then…do you like…cheese?

 

Leave a Reply

