table-19-posterDo you ever get so completely thrown off by something because you expected it to be one way but it really turned out to be completely different? Like, when you see a really scrumptious-looking dessert that you imagine to taste one way but ends up being a totally different flavor? That’s how Table 19 was for me.

It wasn’t a bad different, by any means. But I had been watching the trailer for so long, waiting for pictures and updates and squealing every time I saw the pretty pink poster that by the time I watched the movie itself I thought…what?

Don’t get me wrong. It was a really good movie. A little odd, but good. Cute. I adore Anna Kendrick. The selection of characters at Table 19 made it completely hilarious. Perhaps it was the storyline that just fell a little short to me. Eloise (Anna Kendrick) and her relationship with the blonde guy (who I disliked from the get-go and furthermore refuse to call by either actor or character name out of protest) annoyed me to no end (if you couldn’t already tell. And unfortunately, this is who a lot of the film is centered around. Their relationship was so unsatisfying to me, and I can’t help but hope that it isn’t as realistic as it eerily seemed. Because yeah, the gorgeous brunette guy in the trailer that anyone watching the 2 minute clip would expect her to run away with after they adorably dance together? Spoiler alert, so skip to the paragraph after the next picture. Don’t get your hopes up about The two of them and all the adorableness between them. They were shorter lived on screen than the actual length of that very movie trailer, and I was (and am still) super bitter about it.Β b26df04dea30538d19fc75db41ecc067_700x259Ok, non-spoilers, hello again. Another thing that bothered me, yes moving on from Anna Kendrick and her character’s relationships. The other people at the Table seemed a bit jipped to me. It was like, “oh yes, we’re all in this horrible table situation together, let’s bond.” But as a viewer I felt like Anna was the only one I really got to know. Granted, she was the one with whom I, also snarky white female in this general stage of my life, can immediately relate to. (Also helps that I was a huge fan of Anna already. Not sure which came first here, either, chicken or egg. But whatever.) but all of this aside, the other characters were simply not that memorable. They were there for witty banter, there to support Eloise. They seemingly came to realizations about their own lives, grew as individuals by the end of the movie on their own too (oops was that a spoiler). Seemingly. To me they still seemed like static characters that the director tried to make dynamic in order to round out the story and fully tie the idea of the crappy wedding Table 19 as a unifying symbol together with a big pretty pink bow.

img_1889All in all, I appreciate the concept of this movie. I like the whole idea of this odd group coming together. The actors were all excellent, particularly my girl Anna (and yes, future self, I did just refer to her as “my girl Anna” like we’re complete “homies”). I always have to nod to Lisa Kudrow and that awkward kid from The Grand Budapest Hotel. The music was even amazing (I am about to go look it up on Spotify as we speak). And the film was, undoubtably and undeniably hilarious at times. However, I had imagined some cute indie film full of complex characters, thought-provoking storylines and messages, and a solid, satisfying ending. What I found instead was a story about one complex character with a lot of side characters, all bound not by the table, but by a story and relationship that I didn’t like or understand from the get-go. I found that, instead of eating one flavor of cake, Table 19 was a wholly different and rather unexpected one. Then again, I guess cake is still cake.

Rating: 6/10

Leave a Reply

