Departure

img_9140-2It’s today it’s today it’s today!!!

I have no idea what that quote is from, but it’s from some movie. A kid is running somewhere really excitedly, saying that that in a high pitched voice over and over. I’m imagining that he is waving something in the air, shrieking and completely filled with energy and joy. I’m not sure if that’s what the kid in the movie was doing , but that’s what I feel like.

Today I’m flying to Europe. Paris, specifically. I got to the airport around 11:30 am this morning after a mild navigational misadventure. (Getting to the actual airport is wild.) It was the first time that I’ve ever gone through check in and airport security by myself too. My suitcase img_9145was exactly forty-nine pounds, out of the allotted fifty, so that was exciting. Also, full-on security pat-down? Maybe it was my bracelet. The lady couldn’t believe that I was nineteen; she said she thought I was younger. I was taken aback, but I’ll take it. I made it through unscathed.

There were few people coming and going yet, and I got lunch and have been sitting at our boarding gate since. People have come and gone, all going about their lives and travels and day. Slowly the other people from my group have collected together. We’ve talked and joked and eaten and shared in our excitement. I can’t wait to get to know them better over the next few hours and weeks and months. I can’t wait to drink coffee and wander around the streets of Paris and eat crepes. I can’t wait to see the beautiful city and art and rivers and sky. It’s today it’s today it’s today!!!

2 Replies to “Departure”

Leave a Reply

