Television

A Dragon is Not a Slave

As I’ve previously mentioned, I binge-watch a lot of shows. Gilmore Girls. Friends. Most recently, Younger.

But Game of Thrones has very little in common with many other typically “binge-able” shows.

It’s violent. Brutal. Heart-breaking. Terrifying. Thrilling. Funny, even. But it’s extremely empowering, too. And let me tell you, I’ve watched a lot of Game of Thrones recently. I’ve felt it all. And I love ever bit of it, even when it feels like my heart’s been stabbed, which happens frequently.

After all this time, though, as characters come and go and destroy themselves and each other, my favorite character has remained constant. I love Tyrion, Jon Snow, and Arya, but the Mother of Dragons takes the cake.

Daenerys Targaryen is a rare gem in television. She’s smart, strong, independent, brave, noble. She can be ruthless and slaughter cities, but she is just in each and every decision she makes. She is kind.

And yet, she’s weak too. She is betrayed, almost killed. She seeks advice from others, others who do not always have her best interests at heart. She loses love, has her heartbroken, reveals her vulnerabilities regularly.

But this is why we, the audience, can  sympathize with her. This is what makes us want to be her, or feel protective of her; this is why we scream at the TV when something bad is about to happen that she cannot see. This is why, when she does something particularly badass, we appreciate and admire it all the more.

She is the embodiment of “girl power.” She came from nothing and built herself up, with only a little prodding early on. She discovers herself, her own identity, just as she finds her life, her power, her army, and her dragons. She proves those who believe that she can’t success to be unutterably, grossly, and ultimately satisfyingly incorrect.

Take that, male-dominated world of Westeros, full of violence and blood and prostitutes and gore. 

Of course, there are many other extremely under-appreciated and inspiring characters, particularly female ones, in this show as well (Brienne, this is for you). When I wrote this, post, however, I had only made it through season three and was high off of Daenerys kickassery. So, for now I will simply nod at Ygritte, Sam, and Maergery.

For now, like I said, I am fresh off the shrieking-with-excitement fangirl train. So I made a list of my Top Five favorite Daenerys episodes/scenes from seasons one through three. Again, beware of potential spoilers if you haven’t seen through season three.

daenerys_1x10
Season 1, Episode 10: Fire and Blood. Dragons. I read this in the book before I watched the show, and let me tell you it was absolutely perfect. So unexpected in the book, so welcome in the show. So welcome, and so exciting! I mean, DRAGONS.
tumblr_m5a3k4ireb1rqwga2o2_500
Season 2, Episode 10: Valar Morghulis. More dragons!!!

 

notmen-1428421644
Season 3, Episode 3: Walk of Punishment. Can you say…kickass feminism? This was one of my favorite little scenes. Another highlight from this episode involves a certain lie about a vault…and a couple of deaths, obviously.
maxresdefault
Season 3, Episode 4: And Now His Watch Has Ended. DANY WHY ARE YOU SO CLEVER. Also, A DRAGON IS NOT A SLAVE!
dany1
Season 3, Episode 10: Mhysa. (Ok really SPOILER though.) This wasn’t the best Dany scene or anything, but it was such a satisfying ending. She came from having no followers to having armies upon cities upon hoards of them. She overcame everything, and now she has a real shot at being not only the mother of dragons and slaves, but being a real queen. I’m so excited to find out what happens next!

 

 

Leave a comment